The area and surroundings

Our guest accommodation is located in the heart of the Languedoc-Roussillon region and attracts year after year many tourists with its unique scenery, vivid cultural life and the typical southern French cuisine.

 The Municipal Association of l’Uzège is “the little Tuscany in the Provence” and extends to Uzès near Pont du Gard. In the varied terrain of the sun-drenched region

vines thrive and the characteristic Cypresses that you immediately have in mind when thinking of the Provence and that Van Gogh loved so much as a motive. The king of Mediterranean trees soars on a picturesque landscape between small stone houses and magnificent châteaus. If you once knew the true promise of the olfactory symphony of thyme, rosemary and lavender, you´ll never forget it.

A region with an incredible sweetness of life that you can visit as your wandering take you.

 The opportunities of excursions are varied in every season:

Uzès (15 km) – undoubtedly one of the most vibrant and attractive cities of

  the Provence. Uzès was built on a Roman bastion, whose traces still can be

  admired on the basis of the feudal buildings, which are the best preserved ones.

  The city is the architectural, cultural and artistic heart of the region, where you can

  rummage in art galleries, antique shops and many other unique little shops.

Of particular note is the weekly market in Uzès, which is without doubt one of the best in Provence. The market takes place every Saturday morning in the historical town centre in Place des Herbes and is always extremely lively, with the atmosphere enhanced by street entertainers. Everything is on offer, with a huge choice of truly fantastic regional fare ranging from cheeses, olives, tapenade and patés to wines and honey, fruit, meat, fish and vegetables. There are also plenty of gift stalls offering provencal pottery, soaps and candles to name but a few items. It is a real pleasure to stroll along the colorful stalls and thereby inhale the inimitable fragrance of Provence.

Afterwards there is nothing better than to treat yourself to fresh oysters and a glass of wine on one of the sunny terraces of Uzès.

Just a stone’s throw away from Uzès is a Haribo factory with an accompanying  candy museum, a place to enjoy – not only for children.

10 km south-east of Uzès you can visit the famous Pont du Gard. This unique and beautiful example of the ingenuity of ancient Roman architecture is very well preserved, the aqueduct is shown to its fullest advantage in the evening – when the setting sun bathes the 2000 years old stones apparently in gold.

Another delightful way to see the Pont du Gard is via the river “Le Gardon” – you can rent kayaks and canoes from Canoe Le Tourbillon at Collias and slowly descend the river until you arrive at Pont du Gard. The staff will come and pick you up at a retrieval point and drive you back to Collias to collect your car.

 

Licenses: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs License ; GNU Free Documentation License
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported (CC BY-SA 3.0)
Authors: Arjan AlmekindersschoebandkafeoleLe Notortipede // Flickr

  • Barjac (20 km) – A Renaissance town with houses, châteaus and hotels from the 17th Century and a donjon, which belongs to an estate of Capuchin monks.
  • Vézénobres (20 km) – The village was built by the Romans in 12 Century and soars majestically over the landscape.
  • Castillon-du-Gard (30 km) – A medieval village with stunning views of the surrounding countryside and the Pont du Gard, many small and good restaurants can be found here.
  • Lussan – Lussan is located only three kilometres from Audabiac on a hill in the middle of a vast plain, from here you can enjoy a beautiful view of the panorama and the Mont Ventoux. Very close to the canyon Concluses, whose river bed is dry in summer.
  • St. Quentin-la-Poterie (10 km) – As the name suggests, this village is known for its pottery. Some of the many potteries offer some very original works.
  • La Roque sur Cèze et les Cascades du Sautadet (20 km) – A picturesque village with stone houses, surrounded on one side by rocky hills. You see a Château and the Valley southern of Cèze, which is spanned by a Roman bridge.
  • The cities Avignon (50 km), a large part of the city is UNESCO world cultural heritage, including the famous “Palais des Papes”; Nîmes (40 km) lives up to its reputation as a city of “art and history” and Arles (100 km), famous for its international meetings for photography enthusiasts, are three pearls of the French architectural and cultural heritage. Each one is worth a trip.

Don´t miss the world-famous “festival de théâtre d’Avignon” if you are around in July!

License: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs License Authors: claude.attard.bezzina, m@®©ãǿ►ðȅtǭǹȁðǿr◄©, Storm Crypt, Fr Antunes, Artur Staszewski // Flickr

All these cities have beautiful pedestrian zones, where it can be wonderful to go for a stroll.

Wine lovers will also get their money´s worth: connoisseurs can discover lots of wineries and their wines which are located in the region of Cotes du Rhône. The probably most famous wine of this region is the Châteauneuf Du Pape (40 km). Its 13 different types of grape grow in the southern part of the Rhône, the high quality grape “Syrah” (also known as “Shiraz”) gives this wine its special touch.

… and also :

  • Gorges of Ardeche – canoying, rafting or simply lying in the sun at a natural aquatic park or browsing round art galleries
  • the Mediterranean Sea and its Camargue (the ocean is not far!) : an extraordinary natural area, with hundreds of lacs, flamingos and wild horses. In the middle of the Camargue, the medieval village of Aigues Mortes and its remparts, the fishermen’s village Le Grau du Roi and the gypsy village Saintes Maries de la Mer
  • the Cévennes : the National Park with wild nature and old protestant settlements, paradise for walkers with its chestnut groves, springs and small valleys

Of course, you can practice all sports in the region, our house is an ideal starting point for walks and bike rides.

Discover soon complete packages with additional ideas for an all-inclusive holidays under “Deals and Packages”.

La région

La région où se situe notre maison d’hôtes en plein cœur du Languedoc – Roussillon est d’ une richesse touristique incomparable aussi bien au niveau naturel que culturel ou gastronomique.

L’Uzège est comme “une petite Toscane” provençale qui s’étend d’Uzès au Pont du Gard. C’est une région au relief varié, inondée de soleil, où les vignes et les cyprès règnent en maître parmi un héritage architectural unique allant du château au mas en passant par les bastides. Un coin de France avec une incroyable « douceur de vivre » que l’on arpente sans jamais se lasser.
 
 Les possibilités de visites et d’activités sont innombrables en toutes saisons et parmi celles-ci :

  • Uzès (15 km) – sans aucun doute une des villes les plus vivantes et attirantes de Provence, Uzès a été construite sur le site d’une forteresse romaine et c’est un lieu ou les vestiges et bâtiments de la période féodale sont les mieux préservé. Cette ville est le cœur architectural, culturel et artistique de la région et vous pouvez y flâner dans une multitude de galeries, antiquaires, et magasins des plus originaux.

Le marché hebdomadaire d’Uzès qui est, sans aucun doute un des meilleurs et des plus authentique de Provence. Il a lieu chaque mercredi et samedi matin sur la place historique d’Uzès dite “place aux herbes”. Vous y trouverez un large choix de produits du terroir tels que fruits, légumes, viande, poisson, fromages, olives, charcuterie, vin mais aussi la poterie provençale, tissus, nappes, savons et produits de beauté. C’est un réel bonheur de se promener parmi les étals colorés des marchands à l’accent inimitable en respirant les parfums typiques de la Provence.

Et rien mieux de boire un petit verre de vin et manger quelques huitres à l’une des terrasses ensoleillées d’Uzès.

A proximité d’Uzès vous pouvez visiter la fabrique et le musée des bonbons Haribo qui ravira petits et grands.

À 10 kms au sud-est d’Uzès se trouve le fameux Pont du Gard, mondialement connu. Cet exemple déroutant d’architecture de l’antiquité romaine et d’ingéniosité est superbement préservé. Le meilleur moment de la journée pour le visiter est le coucher du soleil quand les ” 2000 ans de vieilles pierres virent inexorablement vers une magnifique couleur dorée”.

Une autre manière fabuleuse de voir le Pont du Gard est de descendre la rivière “Le Gardon ” en kayaks et ou canoës au départ de Collias et vous laisser glisser doucement jusqu’à votre arrivée au Pont du Gard. Le loueur viendra vous récupérer à un point de rencontre et vous ramènera à Collias ou vous retrouverez votre voiture.

Licenses: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs License ; GNU Free Documentation License
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported (CC BY-SA 3.0)
Authors: Arjan Almekinders, schoeband, kafeole, Le No, tortipede // Flickr

  • Barjac (20 km) – Une cité Renaissance avec ses maisons, châteaux et hôtels du XVII siècle et son donjon, propriété des Capucins.

  • Vézénobres (20 km) – un village spectaculairement perché avec une architecture romaine datant du 12ème siècle.

  • Castillon-du-Gard (30 km) – Un village médiéval avec des vues étourdissantes sur la campagne environnante y compris le Pont du Gard. Il y a plusieurs bons petits restaurants dans le village.

  • Lussan – est à seulement 3 kms d’Audabiac,  village est perché sur un monticule en plein milieu d’une plaine qui propose un panorama avec une vue magnifique sur le mont Ventoux. Tout près du village se trouve le canyon des Concluses, rivière à sec durant l’été.
  • St. Quentin-la-Poterie (10 km) – Comme son nom l’indique est connu pour ses ateliers de potiers. Il y a en une bonne douzaine et certains d’entre eux proposent des œuvres originales.
  • La Roque sur Cèze et les Cascades du Sautadet (20 km) – Pittoresque village en pierre perché sur le flanc d’une colline rocheuse et dominé par un château surplombant au sud la vallée de la Cèze enjambée par un pont romain.
  • Les villes d’Avignon (50 km) classée au Patrimoine Mondiale de l’Unesco avec son fameux “Palais des Papes”, Nîmes (40 km) qui mérite bien son label “Arts et Histoire” et Arles (100 km) célèbre pour ses “Rencontres internationales de la photographie” , trois joyaux du patrimoine architectural et culturel français à elles seules le voyage.

Si vous êtes dans la région en juillet, ne manquez pas le festival de théâtre d’Avignon, mondialement connu.

Toutes ces villes ont des zones piétonnes commerçantes qui raviront les amateurs de shopping..

Les amateurs de bons vins ne sont pas oubliés : il y a une multitude de vignerons et de producteurs de Côtes du Rhône dans la région. Le plus fameux vin de la région est le Châteauneuf Du Pape (40 km).
Poussant sur le terroir du sud du Rhône, ce vin est un assemblage de 13 variétés de cépages y compris le Syrah qui lui apporte du caractère.
 

Un peu plus loin sont également à découvrir :

  • Les Gorges de l’Ardèche – canyoning, rafting ou simplement farniente au soleil vous attendent dans un décor naturel d’une beauté exceptionnelle.

  • La méditerranée et sa Camargue (éh oui, la mer n’est pas loin !) : un espace naturel préservé extraordinaire avec ses lacs, ses étangs,ses flamands roses, ses tarureaux, ses manades  et ses chevaux sauvages. En plein milieu de la Camargue, le village médiéval d’Aigues Mortes et ses remparts merite une visite de même que le village de pécheurs du Grau du Roi et le village gitans des Saintes Maries de la Mer
  • 
Les Cévennes : un parc national à la nature sauvage et ses anciens lieux protestants, paradis des marcheurs avec ses châtaigneraies, ses sources et ses petites vallées.

Bien sûr, toutes les activités sportives sont possibles dans la région et notre baside est un point idéal de départ pour les randonnées à pied ou les balades à bicyclettes.

Vous pourrez découvrir des idées de forfaits et séjours tout compris sur nos pages “Forfaits/Packages”.